Atelier Rodrigue
Stained Glass Studio, Sherbrooke, Qc
Stained glass in every home...

Stained glass brings the lighting ambiance and elegance in any decor. Each project is custom designed and crafted by hand with durable materials. You will see on this website the potential for using stained glass and the know-how of the workshop. Explore the presentation about the artisans who built the stained glass heritage of Quebec. Finally, on the blog, you will find out various articles. Enjoy !


Some suggested uses for stained glass

Stained glass for window coverings

Using stained glass as a dressing for windows is an attractive alternative to curtains and blinds. A judicious choice of the glass type at the creation of the stained glass project can keep intimacy and provide a sufficient amount of natural lighting in a room. Mounting stained glass windows in shutters or rails keeps the security and ventilation functions of a window.

Memorial windows

Offering a stained glass work to celebrate a birthday, a milestone of life or a jubilee, to commemorate an event or to honor a personality is a gift worthy of a lasting memory. An ensemble of stained glass windows in a public area is welcoming. Respect of the premises is facilitated. We'd stay there for a long time. Keep an eye out, you'll see stained glass windows in train station, in hotels and restaurants, in a public market or a library.

The lamp

Our winters are long, so the days are short and colors, almost absent, go from gray to white from November to April. In those moments where artificial lighting is on up to eight hours a day, it is really nice to be enveloped in an atmosphere of color and light offered by a Tiffany style lamp. Timeless Tiffany lamp fits well within any decor.

The lantern

The lantern is an economical choice compared to the Tiffany lamp to offer a beautiful lighting made of stained glass. It usually has fewer glass pieces than the lamp while having a glass surface which completely covers the light source. The lantern is less suitable for lighting service, e.g. for reading, but it is perfect for mood lighting. Its compact shape and light weight allows it to be place almost anywhere you want.

Stained glass windows restoration

Restoration of a window from Clayton & Bell
Church windows restoration

Atelier Rodrigue offers restoration services for church windows or antique stained glass. The drawing of the window is reproduced on paper in real size. The stained glass windows are disassembled piece by piece and cleaned. The broken pieces are accurately reproduced by the mean of enamel paint baked in a high-temperature kiln. The lead channels are replaced with new materials identical to the original. The frame is rebuild with new reinforcement bars to support the weight of the window over the years.

The Glass Courier
blog info opinions
latest blog post:
Fashion Apparel & Accessories bearing Stained Glass
March 2020
Alexander McQueen Dress
A variety of clothing and accessories are available to stained glass enthusiasts. It is up to the consumer to judge what is tasteful and what is right for them (...)
To explore
history heritage
presentation:
Major artisans who built stained glass windows heritage of Quebec
 
McCausland window
Only few artisans built the stained glass heritage in Quebec. It is essentially a religious heritage. These windows were created over a period between 1900 and 1950 (...)
for a retailer
glass material
we recommend:
Vitres et Passions, Boutique du vitrail
Saint-Alphonse de Granby
Vitres et Passions
Atelier Rodrigue is specialized in the crafting, repair and restoration of stained glass windows and lamps. We do not sell glass, equipment and courses.

Atelier Rodrigue
studio de vitrail, Sherbrooke, Québec
Un vitrail dans chaque maison...

Le vitrail apporte une ambiance lumineuse d'une grande beauté à un décor. Chaque projet est fabriqué sur mesure, à la main, avec des matériaux durables. Voyez sur ce site le potentiel d'utilisation du vitrail et le savoir-faire de l'atelier. Découvrez la présentation des artisans qui ont bâti le patrimoine des vitraux au Québec. Enfin, sur le blogue, vous trouverez des articles variés. Bonne visite!


Quelques suggestions d'utilisation du vitrail

Le vitrail pour l'habillage des fenêtres

Utiliser le vitrail pour l'habillage des fenêtres est une alternative intéressante aux rideaux et aux stores. Choisir le bon type de verre lors de la création de la verrière permet de bien doser le degré d'intimité requis pour la pièce de la maison tout en assurant un éclairage naturel suffisant. Monter le vitrail en volets ou encore sur rails permet de préserver les fonctions utilitaires de ventilation et de sécurité de la fenêtre.

Le vitrail commémoratif

Offrir un vitrail pour souligner un anniversaire, pour rendre un hommage ou pour commémorer un événement est digne d'un souvenir impérissable. Dans un lieu public, un ensemble de vitraux est accueillant, il favorise le respect, il exprime la volonté d'établir un patrimoine. On y resterait un long moment. Ouvrez l'oeil, vous remarquerez des vitraux dans une gare de train, dans l'hôtellerie et la restauration, dans un marché public ou une bibliothèque.

La lampe

Nos hivers sont longs, les journées y sont courtes et les couleurs, absentes, passent du gris au blanc de novembre à avril. L'éclairage artificiel est en fonction jusqu'à huit heures par jour. Il est vraiment agréable alors d'être enveloppé d'une ambiance colorée et lumineuse qu'offre une lampe de type Tiffany. Indémodable, la lampe Tiffany s'intègre bien à tout décor.

La lanterne

Option économique à la lampe, la lanterne en vitrail compte moins de pièces de verre. Sa surface vitrée recouvre complètement la source lumineuse. La lanterne convient moins à un éclairage de service, la lecture par exemple, mais elle est parfaite pour un éclairage d'ambiance. On ne se lasse jamais de la regarder sans en être aveuglé. Sa forme compacte et son poids léger permet de la positionner à peu près n'importe où.

Restauration de vitraux

Restauration d'une verrière de Clayton & Bell
restauration de vitraux

Atelier Rodrigue offre les services de restauration de vitraux d'églises ou de vitraux anciens. Le plan de la verrière est reproduit en format réel. Les vitraux sont désassemblés pièce par pièce et nettoyés. Les morceaux cassés sont reproduits avec précision au moyen de peinture émaillée cuite dans un four à haute température. La mise en plomb est faite à partir de matériaux neufs identiques à ceux d'origine. Les barres de renforcement sont remplacées. L'encadrement est refait de façon à bien supporter le poids du vitrail au fil des ans.

Le Courrier du Verrier
blogue info opinions
article le plus récent:
Des vêtements et accessoires mode arborant le vitrail
mars 2020
robe Alexander McQueen
Une panoplie de vêtements et d'accessoires s'offre aux passionnés de vitraux. Libre au consommateur de juger ce qui est de bon goût et ce qui lui convient (...)
À découvrir
histoire patrimoine
présentation:
Les grands artisans qui ont bâti le patrimoine du vitrail au Québec
 
vitrail McCausland
L'inventaire du vitrail au Québec est composé en grande partie d'oeuvres à caractère religieux. Quelques noms seulement se partagent l'essentiel des créations (...)
pour un détaillant
verre matériel
nous recommandons:
Vitres et Passions, Boutique du vitrail
Saint-Alphonse de Granby
Vitres et Passions
Atelier Rodrigue se spécialise dans la confection, la réparation et la restauration de vitraux. Nous ne vendons pas de verre, de matériel et de cours de vitrail.